OG&E, you rascal.

Let me give you a timeline of our moving in schedule. Our closing date was August 31st, and therefore we had all utilities switched to our name August 31st. We ended up closing around 4 p.m., so we actually moved in the next day, September 1st, and spent our first night there. My first day to check the mail box, there’s a bill from OG&E for an activation fee and security deposit. Fair enough, I knew it was coming. The bill was for the activation they accomplished on August 31st, and the due date of the bill was September 2nd. “Hm”, I thought. “All right OG&E, I’ll see what I can do.” I wrote a check immediately and dropped it in the mailbox. Apparently, I didn’t act quick enough.

CutOffNotice

This was particularly bad timing since we were having some masonry work done in the backyard, and Rocky (seriously, the mason guy’s name) needed electricity from our house. Needless to say, the masonry work has been delayed.

Taylor called to find out what was going on, and this is where it gets ridiculous for me. They had our power scheduled to be turned off today, and also had our power scheduled to be turned back on today. So we (actually our cats, since we were at work) went approximately 4 hours without power today for being delinquents.

Tags:

5 Comments to “OG&E, you rascal.”

  1. Okay, let’s settle this once and for all. Those little horizontal windows in a row way up at the top of the house. They’re termed clerestory windows, I know.

    But it always made more sense to me that that word would be pronounced, klu-RES-tery. Instead, all the architects I’ve ever known, and Taylor, too, will say it’s pronounced, CLEAR-story.

    I’m right and everybody else in the known universe is wrong, correct?

    I realize I could just go to Merriam-Webster dot com but I’m itchin’ for a fight.

  2. http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/clerestory
    Sorry, Dad.

    Tell me, have you ever been in a situation where you had to say “clerestory”? Did they give you a funny look? 😉

  3. I’m with your dad on the pronunciation of “clerestory”. So maybe it’s two against the universe, but you know, we were both language aficienados, as evidenced by my use of the word “aficienado”. So what do you call the windows across the front of the house that are triangular, like mine? Trirestory?

  4. Mom, from what I understand, the term clerestory is actually describing the vertical portion of a building that separates two roof levels. When looking at our house from the front, the space between the roof above the front door and the roof rising above it from the rear would be considered a clerestory, regardless, I believe, of if there are windows or not. This is why the windows in that space are termed clerestory windows, windows of the clerestory.

    This construction type is ancient, but the more modern use of the term includes any window above eye level, not just windows located in a clerestory. These windows can be of any shape, although they are typically identified as bands of windows, like yours!

  5. A conversation that would only happen amongst the Starrs….

Leave a Reply

