Mr. Gorbachev, tear down this wall. Paper.

Taylor’s soul has been released from the monstrous NCIDQ exam, so our home renovations are now kicking into full gear. Too bad it’s going to be 50 degrees and drizzly all week, which is perfect weather for watching Cheers and playing rounds of “In a Pickle”, the worst game I’ve ever played.

Last week we had a get together at our house with some friends from church, who were kind enough to help us start to tear down some wallpaper.

WallpaperRemoval002

That’s the border in the bedroom coming down. I wasn’t sure if that was an old color underneath the border, or if it was like wearing a band-aid on your finger for a few weeks, and removing it to find pruny, discolored skin underneath.

WallpaperRemoval003

You’ll have to forgive me for not posting lots of pictures of people working up a sweat as tons of progress was being made. While that did actually happen, I really didn’t want to be the dry as a bone guy with the camera saying “Hey, look at me so I can document this free labor I’m getting. Now, back to work!” That type of guilt ridden personality makes me a terrible, terrible journalist.

Oh yeah, and the country fried wallpaper has been cast from whence it came, leaving a sweet blank canvas in its place.

WallpaperRemoval001

Nice. So hopefully the posts will start to pick up now that Taylor’s attention is shifting to the house. Which means you have plenty to look forward to. Don’t believe me? We got a new rug. Don’t make me devote a week of posts to it.

9 Responses to “Mr. Gorbachev, tear down this wall. Paper.”

  1. Wow, I’m noticing that the lighting in your master bedroom casts really interesting, stark shadows. The one of Josh in the corner reminds me of those silhouettes of you and Elizabeth your Mom has hanging at their house. It looks as if a large-headed, spectral visitor lurks in the corner watching the wallpaper removal with great interest.

    Love the title, but the Ronny Ray-gun voice in my memory always says, “Mr. Gorbachev . . .” not “Mr. President.” I’m probably wrong though, and it’s hardly worth looking up. I don’t think he was President until after he tore down the wall?

  2. You are correct, Mark. We should really be doing our research since we have such smarties reading 😛

    As for the lighting. It really IS terrible. I’m surprised at how stark it is coming from such standard style fixtures. Hopefully new ones that can diffuse the light better will fix that.

  3. Was I quoting something?….

    No, I know I was. Correction duly noted. Also, I’ve never actually written that phrase, so I anticipate (and welcome) a correction on my spelling of the word “duly”.

  4. Well Rob, in that case, here’s a short primer on the phrase. It’s spelling is all in the context:

    dually noted (when spoken from a six wheeled pickup)

    duelly noted (when spoken in reference to VP Aaron Burr)

    dewly noted (when spoken by the toothless, yellow soft drink-loving “children of the mountains” in Appalachia)

    Hope this helps.

  5. (Mark and I meet and converse on other people’s blogs. It’s a French thing.)

    Mark. we watched (most of) Rem Koolhaas: A Kind of Architect tonight, until Alison either got too sleepy or just too tired of my knowing remarks. We’ll pick it up again in the next few days, but I’m really enjoying it. Anyhow, it’s ironic, not only that Rob titled this with that quote, and that you commented on the nominative of address (is that right?), but that THIS VERY NIGHT RONNIE’S WORDS CROSSED MY MIND AND I COULDN’T REMEMBER IF HE SAID MR. GORBACHEV, PRESIDENT GORBACHEV OR WHAT!! Isn’t that strange and interesting?

  6. I meant to say that scenes of the Berlin Wall in A Kind of Architect had triggered my thoughts about “tear down this wall” hours before reading this.

    So, Rob. Is there any wallpaper in our room?

  7. I would apologize to Rob and Taylor in advance for hijacking their blog’s comment thread, but we French live by a different code of manners where this type of thing is commonplace.

    Jim, I’m glad you’re enjoying the film. Out of curiosity, how did you track it down? I only managed to catch the latter portion of it on Sundance myself, and I would be interested to see what I missed. I don’t see it repeated on their schedule.

    And at the risk of sounding like a know-it-all (as if I haven’t blown any chance of not doing that in this thread already, right?), I’ll take the bait on your parenthetical question. I’m not much of a grammarian, or a trained linguist by any stretch, but I think you are right. In English, to directly address a person or persons in a sentence, we use what we call the “nominative of address” for what is more universally called the “vocative case.” If I remember correctly, the vocative case in some (many?) languages is expressed distinctly, without use of the nominative. Biblical Greek, is one example, I think.

    And Rob, I appreciate how good-natured-ly you take my obnoxious correction; I only hope I was as gracious when you set me straight upon my confusion of Bert and Herbert Cooper. 🙂

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

