Flowers, etc.

My first flower escapade started out optimistic, but within a week, my blooms had wilted almost completely. Not what I was going for. I don’t know if it was the flowers, me or a combination of both. So this time, I decided to try different flowers until I find what works for me.

This month, I brought home 2 different kinds of Hydrangeas and some kind of flower something…


Polly checking out the new blooms.



Green Hydrangeas in the Kitchen

The green Hydrangeas are probably my new favorite. It’s been over a week and only the leaves have wilted thus far. I also bought these following my sister-in-law’s advice: buy flowers with lots of unopened blooms and they will live longer as they open. Done and done.


White Hydrangeas on the Mantel.

Oh yeah. These flowers look great. Too bad they lasted all of 24 hours. Check those off my list.


Mystery flowers in the guest bathroom.



Mystery flowers in the master bathroom.



Jin with mystery flowers in the master bedroom.

The mystery flowers haven’t aged a day, aside from the daily tattering they get from cats. They went a long way, too. Not bad for four bucks.

And since I’m on the subject, my mom, sister-in-law and I went to the farmer’s market on Saturday. There, a woman had a booth of various glass vases and jars in front and buckets of freshly cut flowers in the back. The concept: buy a nifty, over-priced jar and get an arrangement of flowers to go with it. Come back next week with your jar and get a free refill. Brilliant. You know I will be back next Saturday. And I will probably by more jars.

Just brilliant.

Tags: , ,

One Comment to “Flowers, etc.”

  1. Here’s a link to an article on hydrangea flower arranging. Might make your flowers last longer.

    http://www.digthedirt.com/contributions/5431-Tips-on-flower-arranging-with-Hydrangeas

Leave a Reply

