Fanciful Flaws

It was brought to my attention recently that I tend to over edit the content of this blog, specifically, the photos. If something isn’t perfect or finished, I don’t show it. This practice has been a bit detrimental to the blog in that, as the reader, you don’t get the full affect of our pain and progress.

For example, I was told that I hadn’t shown the end result of the pass-through knock-down. And you want to know why? Because I didn’t want you to see my kitchen! Shame on me. I was holding off on the pass-through reveal until our kitchen was in a more finished state. But let’s be real. That’s not happening anytime soon. I also haven’t shown you a lick of my livingroom. Why? Because the furniture isn’t quite right and the fireplace hasn’t been touched since duct-tapping it over a year ago.

So today I’m going to reveal it all. I’m not even going to clean up first. Well maybe a little.

It doesn’t look half-bad, but let me point out some flaws. The wall is missing trim. And that hole in the wall on the left? Yeah, that’s a dead outlet. The wiring goes to the light centered on the ceiling. And guess what? That’s dead, too. But let’s look on the bright side – look at that floor! I love it. I want to roll around on it.

Our fireplace solution. Yes, that’s the same tape from over a year ago. No, it’s not keeping the cats out of the fireplace. The evidence is the tufts of cat hair stuck on edges of the metal mesh. And it certainly is a mesh. Ha. But seriously. This solution is terrible. Unfortunately, our other option, fireplace doors, is just so expensive. We keep getting close to taking the plunge, but everytime something more important comes up.

And just below our mess of a fireplace is our unfinished flooring. The jaggedness of the fireplace was a bit of a challenge to contour and I was told I should get a professional to trim it out, so there it sits, unfinished.

I could go on, but I think I’ve dug myself a deep enough hole. Satisfied?

2 Responses to “Fanciful Flaws”

  1. major props for being vulnerable here. thanks! 🙂

    having said that, we’re still impressed with the design flair and great ideas that you’re growing here. this feels like an organic re-do with consistent values, consistently applied. maybe you have to be a bit more distant? from here it has integrity and cohesion and flow.

    fireplace doors will happen.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

