Bedroom Shakeup

We’re about to trade up our 2005 IKEA Malm bed for a 1970s Danish. And I’m excited.

Many of you may know that Rob and I currently sleep on a 1970s foam mattress complete with brown plaid lining. Next week, our mattress is going to enjoy a long awaited reunion with its 1970s teak platform bed. The bed has been passed around the family quite a bit during its life and now it’s my turn.

The Bed

Our current IKEA Malm bed has been good to us; surviving 4 moves, 6 disassembles and 2 cats, but it was time to move on. Among other wear and tear, screw holes have been stripped for some time causing creaking with the slightest of movement, the most annoying of its weaknesses. So when my mom notified my brother and me that they were switching to a King sized bed and the teak platform bed was free for the taking, I knew I couldn’t say no.

And such a large shakeup calls for contemplation on other changes.

Many of you may also know the story of our bedroom paint mishap. I selected a wonderful sandy gray paint color for our guest bathroom, Sherwin Williams Worldly Gray. Since the bathroom was on the same side of the house as the master bedroom, thus lighting conditions would be very similar, I thought it was a brilliant idea to paint the bedroom the same color. I was wrong. In our bedroom, that sandy gray color turned steel blue and I have regretted it ever since.

So what better time to repaint than when the largest piece of furniture in the room will be removed?

This weekend, I swatched a few Sherwin Williams paint samples: Balanced Beige, Relaxed Khaki and Universal Khaki. I found a winner in Balanced Beige and am thrilled to start working on this new project.

Balanced Beige:

Check back for my progress!

3 Comments to “Bedroom Shakeup”

  1. I’m anxious to see what this color looks like. And I’m glad you chose to take the bed — I definitely wasn’t ready to let it leave the family!

  2. Can’t wait to see it all together. And to see how the Balanced Beige turns out! What are you thinking about for bedding?

    • Hi, Chris. We’ll actually be keeping our current bedding, which is all white – white sheets, white pillow cases, white duvet. It works for us and will work even better with the teak bed than our current white Malm bed.

Leave a Reply

