Bird Day

Thanksgiving was hosted on Friday this year. It was not my first time hosting; as you may remember my tablescape from 2009.

 

It’s hard to believe I pulled this off just 3 months after Rob and I moved into the house.

As I said, it was not my first time hosting Thanksgiving dinner, but it was my first time cooking the bird myself. I got some help from my mom and grandma to prep the bird, but I cooked up the brine and butter and roasted it myself. I put the bird in the oven at 9:30 am to allow time to roast (15 minutes per pound equals 3.75 hours), rest and carve by 2:00pm. My bird was done at 11:30am… Apparently “tenting” is an important practice.

So then it was a scramble to finish the rest of the sides. I had taken a before shot of my kitchen Thursday night. I wish I had taken a during shot Thursday afternoon. It was a sight. Luckily, Rob is a dish washing machine and we had that kitchen cleaned up in no time.

Decor around the house stayed relatively the same from Halloween – subtle and minimal.

 

And the tablescape was quite possibly cheaper than Thanksgiving 2009. I used small glasses and vases that I already owned – purchased during many trips to my favorite thrift store for about $.50 each and filled with yellow tulips I bought that morning for $9.

 

Hope you had a great Thanksgiving! I’m off to nibble on some left-overs for breakfast.

4 Comments to “Bird Day”

  1. Very pretty. I know it was delicious as well!

  2. Delicious, crazy and fun! I had to admire your ability to stay on track, out of panic mode, even as the dinner preparation became a beast of its own with so many cooks in the kitchen! All those cooks made for some very awesome dishes and way more food than we could ever eat!

  3. oh so so beautiful! i bet it was a wonderful time. we missed being with you all of course but do look forward to seeing you soon!!!!

  4. Beautiful table and surroundings — wish we could have been there!

    Congrats to you and the dish-washing pro — D&L

Leave a Reply

