Mulch, Mulch and More Mulch

This weekend was all about mulch.  What type of mulch? How much mulch? Landscape fabric with mulch? What color of mulch? I’ve finally realized the benefit of it and am willing to shell out some dough every year to maintain.

This year for the the front bed, I answered ‘Wood. 12 cubic feet. No. Black.’ Let’s call the last answer a mishap.

Yes, the mulch has been down for less than 2 hours and I’m already regretting the color choice. My biggest regret is not considering that the black dye may rub off onto shoes and then onto my light colored living room rug.

Oops.

Thankfully, it hasn’t happened yet, so please friends, I beg of you, don’t make me feel like a bigger jerk than I already do.

Anyway… back to mulching…

With the help of my friend, Nate (whose living room I made-over here) we de-weeded and mulched the back bed. Nate is such a workhorse. Together, we definitely did far more than I expected to. Afterwards, my favorite gardening partner, my mom, came over to help me plant and mulch the front bed.

On to the before and afters…

Waaaaaay Before:

Slightly Before:

And After:


So the plants look a bit smaller in the picture than in person… but you get the idea.

Red Yucca with new bloom

Miscanthus Adagio

Can’t wait til it fills out. Check back for updates on the back garden.

One Comment to “Mulch, Mulch and More Mulch”

  1. I always get a good workout helping you garden, and the best part is seeing your vision come to life!

Leave a Reply

