Well, this is embarrassing…

Let me preface this by saying, we are not lighting novices. We have replaced our fair share of light fixtures – from interior to exterior, from the laundry room to the office, we have replaced almost every light fixture in our house. But something just wasn’t working in our guest bedroom.

About a year ago, the IKEA fixture in our guest bedroom went out. Initially thinking the bulb had burned out, I replaced it. But with a replacement bulb, the fixture still was not working. Not wanting to spend money or make a trip to IKEA, we spent a couple dollars on new wiring and re-wired the fixture. Still no worky.

So our guest bedroom sat in the dark for a year until we were able to get our hands on a new IKEA fixture (I have no shame for how much I love IKEA, deal with it).

I love the paper lantern hanging over our dining table, so the Vate fixture was an easy decision for me. I felt especially confident in my choice after Morgan of The Brick House pinned the Vate fixture for nursery lighting (our guest bedroom will likely be a nursery someday and I have not held myself back from decorating it accordingly).

OK, back to my embarrassment. In a rush to host a gathering this week, we spent an evening wiring up the new light fixture. As most IKEA products go, the instructions were a little vague. Not a good combination with… ELECTRICITY. Using our knowledge of wiring, we hook everything up and flip the breaker. Nothing…

Reluctantly, we switch our wiring thinking the unclear IKEA wiring was our previous mistake. Still nothing…

We check all wiring with our multimeter – the house wiring, the fixture wiring. We call Rob’s dad for additional ideas. “Of course you’ve checked your bulb…”
Of course. What do you think we are? Idiots? That’s the first thing we did a year ago – replaced the supposedly burned out bulb with… Oh.

Let this be a lesson to everyone. Save yourself from embarrassment – throw out your burned out bulbs lest you want to mistake an oldie for a newby and spend a year in an unlit room.

On the bright side (I’m punny), we have a new guest bedroom light fixture and boy, is it dramatic.

 

Proof it works…

 

4 Comments to “Well, this is embarrassing…”

  1. Hilarious! 🙂 And we love the new light fixture.

    Any future Whitlows will love it too. 🙂

    Much love to both of you,
    Dave & Lisa

  2. I feel bad for all the work you did trying to get it to work! Have to admire your tenacity though.

  3. I’m so glad that you write about this. Many others wouldn’t have mentioned it and sometimes I think Blogworld is the place where all the perfect people live. 😉 I am also an Ikea lover and like that they have many pretty and affordable things, but on the other hand they are far from having only cheap stuff. I LOVE your story!
    Jule from inside 9B

  4. 1. I like the fixture. 2. I like what paragraph 4 states. 3. Ask Randy about the computer keyboard incident.

Leave a Reply

