The Garden

I’m a little obsessed with it. I stare at pictures while I’m at work. I peek outside at every opportunity. I love my garden. And now I’m going to obsessively write about it.

Earlier this month, I shared the new garden bed in this post, but I didn’t give you the details on what I planted in it. I did include this colorful, yet cryptic landscape plan to better illustrate my plan for the garden.

Before elaborating on where we are now, though, I’ll have to walk you through how we got here. Last year we dug out the shrubs that blocked the view from the dining room window and planted Miscanthus Adagio (‘A’) ornamental grass and Red Yucca (‘Y’) in their place. That summer, the Adagio grass grew nice and full and the Yucca each gave me a stalk of flowers. It got me so excited that I began thinking about what I wanted to do with my remaining front yard. Knowing full sun, low maintenance, and drought tolerant plants did well for me in this spot, I contemplated forms and colors to incorporate into the design.

I adore ornamental grasses because they are very low maintenance, provide wonderful movement on breezy days, and winter interest in an otherwise forgotten landscape. I had to have more. I chose to add at least one more Miscanthus Adagio and Miscanthus Gracillimus (‘G’), which can reach heights of 5 feet, to anchor the bed.

My favorite color for flowers in the garden is purple. There is just something about the green and purple color combination in a garden that feels both lush and modern to me. I chose my two favorite purple flowering plants, Walker’s Low (‘W’) and Lavender (‘L’), to fill in the garden. Last, but certainly not least, I chose to include Echinacea ‘Julia’ (‘C’ for its nickname of Coneflower) for both its bright orange flowers and the beautiful winter interest it provides when left upright until spring. Next year, I plan on adding a third ornamental grass,  more Walker’s Low, Coneflower, and Red Yucca to the garden.

But enough talk, here are some pretty pictures of my young garden.

To the right of this picture is my now year old Miscanthus Adagio and Red Yucca. Both have grown like crazy on very little water and lots of sun. In the lower left corner of the picture, you can see the new and still tiny Walker’s Low and ‘Julia’ Coneflower. Both will grow wide enough to almost reach the sidewalk.

.

.

This is a bit of a better image of the Red Yucca. I love how they lean so gracefully towards the sidewalk.

.

.

Red Yucca Flower Stalks

.

.

This is the Miscanthus Gracillimus that is only 2 feet tall yet and in a bit of curly-bladed transfer shock. Because of this, it may not get as big as it could this year.

.

.

Lavender and its blue foliage.

.

.

The Walker’s Low has grown the most of the new plants.

.

.

And this Coneflower gives me such a thrill with its vibrant orange petals.

4 Comments to “The Garden”

  1. Thanks for including the sketch. We LOVE your sketches!

    The plants are nice too 🙂 we are just huge fans of your sketches…

  2. There’s something to be said for starting a brand-new bed. You can do exactly what you want with it, instead of dealing with the gardening decisions someone else made years ago. In your case, your design skills have the opportunity to shine. I always love watching what you decide to do!

  3. I love how you planned everything out so nicely as well as the plants you chose! So much more organized than us, we still have lots to learn!

    • Mari,

      Those closest to me know that wingin’ it just isn’t me. But there’s definitely nothing wrong with it! I enjoy the planning phase almost as much as completing the project, but if that’s not your style, don’t worry about it!

Leave a Reply

