What Would Frasier Do?

I am often full of ideas and easily inspired, but there are times when I can get hung up on a space. In those times, I will often think, ‘What would Frasier do?’

I have always been a big fan of the show ‘Frasier’. The televised combination of witty puns, a drizzly climate, and thoughtful interiors is right up my alley. I remember watching syndicated episodes on TV right before bedtime when I was in high school. High school. And here I am, over 10 years later,  wrapping up our bedtime viewing of the series ‘Cheers’ on DVD with plans to continue with its spinoff, ‘Frasier’, on DVD for the third time.

In other words, I like ‘Frasier’… a lot. I also like Frasier’s apartment. I see it as a wonderful combination of classic, eclectic, and contemporary. For those unfamiliar, here’s a floor plan and interior rendering.

image courtesy of Nils Gleissenberger

(I can’t attest to the accuracy of the floor plan considering many story lines included Daphne making trips to a community laundry room.)

So some of you may be thinking, ‘What would Frasier do?? But your interiors look nothing like Frasiers…’. True. I’m inspired by the essence of Frasier’s apartment. Clean lines, neutral colors warmed with wood tones, and a touch of tribal motif. Whenever I need inspiration for creating a warm, classic, masculine space. I think of Frasier.

Stay tuned to read about how I applied this inspiration to a troublesome room of mine.

5 Comments to “What Would Frasier Do?”

  1. I’ve always been fascinated by the idea that an apartment could be as large as a house, since most apartment-living outside cities like New York or San Francisco is a less-than-ideal living situation: small uninteresting rooms, limited privacy, noisy neighbors etc. I love that this floor plan has a bath for each bedroom and no wasted space in hallways. I’ll be watching for this influence in your “troublesome” space!

    • grammiescorner – I know what you mean. Especially in our area where apartment living, at least as of the last couple of decades, is not considered ideal. In a few episodes of ‘Frasier’ a prestigious apartment building is featured. How novel!

  2. We’ve imagined that floor plan a million times. Where did you find it?

    Frazier is among the best-written shows in television history; the
    writing absolutely sparkles. You’re right about the interiors too.

    Can’t wait to see how the show inspires solutions for you…

    • Dave & Lisa, I can’t remember where I originally found the plan, but I remember is was amongst other popular TV show apartment floor plans. ‘Friends’ and ‘Seinfeld’ was also featured. Now, you can just google image search “Frasier apartment” and many versions come up in the results.

  3. Aagh, love Frasier! We just got through going through all the seasons a few months ago on Netflix. I was amazed at how many I could remember seeing before. Love the humor and loved his apt as well…! Great inspiration!

Leave a Reply

