One and Done

I’m hop-skipping around the different assignments from Apartment Therapy’s January Cure. Last weekend, I was able to strike off assignment #5, “Pick a Project” and assignment #9, “Hey! It’s Time to (Fill in the Blank)“, by completing one of the more inconsequential projects on my list, “Hang new drapes in master bedroom closet”.

If there is any reality of our home that I hide from the blog, it is my closet. If you look back through my posts on the master bedroom, you’ll notice that I never include an angle that shows my closet. The closet is the traditional 6 foot wide, 2 foot deep space with bifold doors. It’s nothing special to look at when the bifold doors are closed. Unfortunately, the reality is that we’re not allowed to close the doors.

Cats are interesting creatures…

If we close the closet doors, like most normal folks do, our beloved Jin would paw and meow at the door and otherwise cause an annoying ruckus, most often while we’re trying to sleep. So the doors were left open, giving us the wonderful view of my entire wardrobe, which, to everyone’s surprise, is not arranged by style, color, and sleeve-length. Sorry.

I hated it. I always felt like my garments were on display and like our bedroom was more chaotic than it should be. For years, I had the idea that I would add drapes to the closet and I was finally able to pick up my favorite Aina drapes on a recent trip to IKEA. Normally, I buy Cambria drapery hardware from Bed Bath and Beyond, but since I knew the hardware would be installed inside the closet and wouldn’t be seen, I decided I’d rather spend less money on more basic hardware. I opted to use IKEA’s Racka drapery rod with Syrlig curtain rings and clips. Using curtain rings, rather than the hidden tabs on the back of the Aina drapes, would allow for faster, smoother opening and closing of the drapes. In other words, I would be more likely to create a habit of closing the drapes when I’m done in my closet.

I was going to include a ‘Before’ photo of my closet with the doors wide open, but realized it exposed just a bit too much of my wardrobe to include on the blog. So you’re missing out on the nitty-gritty, but here’s a pretty picture instead. I present to you, a never-before-seen corner of the house on Penny Lane complete with the culprit that caused all of the aforementioned events.

IMG_3741

 Have you completed a January Cure project? Tell me about it!

2 Comments to “One and Done”

  1. Really well done! Did you hem the draperies yourself or were you able to find the right length already pre-cut? Great color and fabric; the room looks clean and uncluttered and inviting — and the cat can pass through to the closet. Seems like the right solution, in a cat-honoring sort of way. 🙂

    • Thanks, Dave & Lisa! The drapes I bought are just shy of 8 feet tall, which is perfect for my windows, but with the added height of the curtain rings, they would’ve been just a few inches too long for my closet. Coincidentally, the drapes have “heading tape” that creates a bit of a thicker section at the top of the drapes and allowed for a natural spot to fold over the top of the drapes. I attached my clips on top of that fold and it turned out to be just about the right height for the closet.

      Now, this solution is a bit make-shift, and the only reason I could get away with it is because all of that nonsense is hidden behind the wall above my closet. I wouldn’t recommend doing that where you can see the top of the drapes because it would be fairly obvious. IKEA does sell iron-on hemming tape to allow you to quickly hem the bottom of your drapes. I’ve never tried it, though. Or, if you’re handy with a sewing machine (I, unfortunately, am not), you could obviously tackle the hemming that way.

      Like I said, cats are interesting creatures, as you know. Some cat owners may see the drapes throughout my house and envision the climbing section of a cat obstacle course. Fortunately for me, my cats don’t seem to mind drapes at all. If they want to see what’s on the other side of the drapes, they just push through them.

Leave a Reply

